Governing Body

The WFIS Governing Body is a team of volunteers who come from all sections of the school community, working together and in partnership with the Headteacher to provide strong leadership and management of the school. The Headteacher is responsible for the day to day management of the school, but the Governing Body is responsible for setting the school aims and policies, monitoring children's progress, and supporting and challenging the Headteacher and staff, to ensure that children receive the best possible education.

We meet as a full Governing Body five to six times a year, but because of our wide ranging responsibilities, some of our decision making is carried out by committees. We have two committees which meet three times a year: the Resource Committee and the Learning & Teaching Committee. Each Governor sits on one or other of these committees and they each have defined terms of reference, reporting back or making recommendations to the next scheduled meeting of all the Governors.

    • For information about becoming a school governor, please click here
    • Please contact the school office for details of this year's calendar of meetings
    • To download our latest Governor Newsletter, please click here.

Meet our Governor team

Governing Body, at September 2018

Nicole Crompton - Chair, Co-opted Governor (30/04/15 - 29/04/19)  

Marlene Reddish  - Vice-Chair; member of Learning & Teaching Committee; Co-opted Governor (04/05/2017 - 03/05/21)

Lisa Walker- Parent Governor (04/04/2018 - 04/04/22)

Susan Todd - Foundation Governor; member of  Learning & Teaching Committee (22/10/17 - 21/10/21)

Vacancy - Foundation Governor; member of Learning & Teaching Committee 

David Miller - Local Authority Governor; member of Resource Committee (13/10/16 - 12/10/20)

David (Sam) Salt - Co-opted Governor; Chair of Resource Committee (01/11/16 - 31/10/20)

Kathryn Bean - Co-opted Governor; chair of Learning & Teaching Committee  (13/10/16 - 12/10/20)

Natalie Rapkin - Staff Governor; member of Resource Committee (31/01/2018 - 31/01/22) 

Charlotte Collis - Parent Governor (16/06/17 - 15/06/21)

Joanne Poyser - Headteacher; member of Resource and Learning & Teaching Committees

Kim Meakin is Clerk to the Governing Body (Jan 2018).

James Fussel- Associate Member (04/07/2018 - 04/07/22)  



Parent Governors are elected by parents at each of our schools. We currently have one Parent Governor vacancy.

Foundation Governors for Wirksworth Church of England Infant School are appointed by the Rector of St Mary’s Church in Wirksworth.

Local Authority Governors are nominated by the Local Education Authority.

Co-opted Governors are appointed by the governing body and are people who have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance of the school. We currently have one Co-opted Governor vacancy.

Staff Governors are elected by the teaching and non-teaching staff of our schools, and the Headteacher is automatically a member of the Governing Body.

Clerk to Governors, although not a governor, the clerk is very important, advising the governing body on matters of law and procedure.

If you would like to find out more about the work of the governing body, please contact the Chair of Governors through the school office.

Governor Register of Interests

To find out more about our governors, who appointed them, their attendance at meetings, business interests and positions of responsibility, please see the document below.




Resource Committee

To consider matters relating to:

Ø  Finance

Ø  People

Ø  Health and Safety

Ø  Premises

Ø  Marketing

Ø  Extended Services



Ø  Nicky Crompton

Ø  Natalie Rapkin

Ø  David Miller

Ø  Jo Poyser

Ø  David Salt


Learning & Teaching Committee

To consider matters relating to:

Ø  Curriculum


Ø  Home/School & Community Links

Ø  Exclusions/attendance

Ø  Home School Agreements



Ø  Kathryn Bean

Ø  Charlotte Collis

Ø  Nicky Crompton

Ø  Jo Poyser

Ø  Marlene Reddish

Ø  Susan Todd


 Pay & Performance Management Group


Ø  Kathryn Bean

Ø  Nicky Crompton

Ø  Sue Todd



School Development Strategy Group


Ø  Chair of Governors

Ø  Vice-Chair of Governors

Ø  Chair of Resource Committee

Ø  Chair of Learning & Teaching Committee

Ø  Headteacher

Complaints Committee – as required

Exclusions Committee – as required

 Approved by the Governing Body of the Wirksworth Federation of Infant Schools

Date: 28 September 2017

Minute:  09.09.17

Nicole Crompton - Chair of Governors

Marlene Reddish - Vice-Chair

Lisa Walker- Parent Governor

Sue Todd - Foundation Governor

David Miller - Local Authority Governor

Sam Salt - Co-opted Governor

Kathryn Bean - Co-opted Governor

Natalie Rapkin - Staff Governor

Charlotte Collis - Parent Governor

Jo Poyser - Headteacher

Kim Meakin - Clerk to Governors